Read The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh by Ngaio Marsh Free Online

Ebook The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh by Ngaio Marsh read! Book Title: The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh
The author of the book: Ngaio Marsh
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 735 KB
ISBN 13: 9781558820500
Edition: International Polygonics
Date of issue: December 1st 1989
ISBN: 1558820507

Read full description of the books:

The only collection of Ngaio Marsh's short stories, published to celebrate her centenary.

Contents: Introduction
Roderick Allen
Portrait of Troy
Death on the air
I can find my way out
Chapter and verse: the little Copplestone mystery
The hand in the sand
The cupid mirror
A fool about money
A telescript
Evil liver
Comments: the case with five solutions Does not include Newly discovered: The figure quoted

Read Ebooks by Ngaio Marsh

Read information about the author

Ebook The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh read Online! Dame Ngaio Marsh, born Edith Ngaio Marsh, was a New Zealand crime writer and theatre director. There is some uncertainty over her birth date as her father neglected to register her birth until 1900, but she was born in the city of Christchurch, New Zealand.

Of all the "Great Ladies" of the English mystery's golden age, including Margery Allingham, Agatha Christie, and Dorothy L. Sayers, Ngaio Marsh alone survived to publish in the 1980s. Over a fifty-year span, from 1932 to 1982, Marsh wrote thirty-two classic English detective novels, which gained international acclaim. She did not always see herself as a writer, but first planned a career as a painter.

Marsh's first novel, A MAN LAY DEAD (1934), which she wrote in London in 1931-32, introduced the detective Inspector Roderick Alleyn: a combination of Sayers's Lord Peter Wimsey and a realistically depicted police official at work. Throughout the 1930s Marsh painted occasionally, wrote plays for local repertory societies in New Zealand, and published detective novels. In 1937 Marsh went to England for a period. Before going back to her home country, she spent six months travelling about Europe.

All her novels feature British CID detective Roderick Alleyn. Several novels feature Marsh's other loves, the theatre and painting. A number are set around theatrical productions (Enter a Murderer, Vintage Murder, Overture to Death, Opening Night, Death at the Dolphin, and Light Thickens), and two others are about actors off stage (Final Curtain and False Scent). Her short story "'I Can Find My Way Out" is also set around a theatrical production and is the earlier "Jupiter case" referred to in Opening Night. Alleyn marries a painter, Agatha Troy, whom he meets during an investigation (Artists in Crime), and who features in several later novels.

* Roderick Alleyn

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh

Read EBOOK The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh by Ngaio Marsh Online free

Download PDF: the-collected-short-fiction-of-ngaio-marsh.pdf The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh PDF